Omnom O’Clock: I Am… at a café again

Looks like FoodBook is back for a revamp~
I woke up one day and decided that FoodBook sounds retarded, and hence I have come up with an even more retarded name to take its place.

Omnom O’Clock is a weekly  monthly  no-scheduley review/visual recollection of whichever omnom place I happen to have visited recently. All views and opinions are 100% my own, and are not representative of …the larger population. 😀

AND SO WE BEGIN.

R1027309

I Am café is located along North Bridge Road, right at the entrance of Haji Lane (yup this place still exists) and promises to bring the feel-good vibes (and bikes) of Amsterdam to the shores of sunny Singapore.

I can’t actually judge how Amsterdam-ish the place was, seeing as I have never actually been to the capital of the Netherlands, but I must say the lovely big red I Am… sign is a beautiful touch, and for that I give this café bonus points.

R1027323

Charcoal-grilled “Big Bear” Beef Burger – $15.90R1027315

Comes topped with a GINORMOUS onion ring and a delicious sunny side up, with a side of fries. Didn’t try the patty for myself, but the most hilarious part was when Sharky dipped her fries into the chili sauce and went, “that is spicy!” Vi then cautiously tried the chili with the tip of her fork, and with a bemused look on her face offered,

“It’s… pretty sweet.” 

Turkey Ham Penne in White Sauce – $13.90R1027324

For the pastas, you could choose if you wanted it cooked with Red Tomato Sauce, White Sauce, or Aglio Olio style. I really, really liked this. The cream sauce wasn’t too gao, a sin which other eateries have a habit of committing. Generous serving of turkey ham yum. I could have another now.

Crayfish Fettuccine
R1027325

Unfortunately I don’t remember the price, but it was between $16 – 18. Sauce was pretty spicy, but deliiiiiicious omg. Lots of crayfish, and it also came with (in Vi’s words) “a lot of random things” like olives and cherry tomatoes and alfalfa sprouts.

Nutella Chocolate Drink, Virgin Mojito Mocktail Lychee, Virgin Mojito Mocktail – $6.90R1027316

I had the Virgin Mojito Mocktail Lychee, and it was really refreshing! I was slightly miffed that I couldn’t evenly mix the syrup as there was a lot of ice on top (OCD) but it evened itself out pretty nicely. $6.90 might be a bit pricey, but for a mocktail it was pretty delicious.

In omnommary…

I AM

Price ~$20 and up (main, drink)
Address 674 North Bridge Road, Singapore 199486
Phone 6295 5509
Mon – Thurs: 11.30AM-11PM
Fri- Sat: 11.30AM – 1AM
Sunday: 11.30AM – 10PM

Omnom Opinion
The optimistic: Hearty portions, HUGEASS RAINBOW CAKE
The opposition: No aircon!!
The opportunity: Halal, and lots of photo ops with the I Am sign

R1027340 R1027334
R1027341

Evidently the owners have humour too hahaha!

R1027343

Bonus pic of a old-school shop front hehe

IMG_5219

One thought on “Omnom O’Clock: I Am… at a café again

Leave a Reply

