On the Cusp of 15 and 16

To be honest, I don’t fully know what to make of 2015.

It was a year of decisions. Of learning to leave, and then learning to grow. It was about not knowing whether choices were wrong or right, yet still blindly putting my faith in dark unknowns then crossing my fingers and hoping for the best.

But most of all, it was a year of great privilege.

R1023013
R1023271
R1024064

I was blessed to travel the world yet again, this time covering eleven cities in six countries. The adventures this time were bigger; I was lucky to have had a constant companion everywhere, but the two of us were more alone than ever. Pickpockets trailing us for a good fifteen minutes, illegal peddlers hawking their wares, too-heavy bags and illnesses abound, it was a real challenge this time round.

But, we were privileged. We got to study abroad, make friends from all corners of the globe and see so many varieties of beauty in every single scene and setting this wonderful world has to offer.

R1024702
R1024419
R1024734
R1024820

We went to Paris, marvelled at the Louvre and had macarons. We went to Cinque Terre and had such a difficult time, but explored all five settlements anyway and hiked for two hours off the face of a cliff. I finally stepped into my father’s favourite city of Manchester and went into Old Trafford. We studied in Cambridge. And we, like everyone else before us, fell in love with London.

R1024975
R1024987
R1025454
R1025460
R1025545

And 2015 was a year of friendships. I made so many new friends, some for life, and got closer to old ones; I smiled, cried and laughed like crazy; I had a hell of a time with every single one of them, regardless the experience.

IMG_1646
IMG_2388

January saw me end my floorball captaincy on sad terms, yet February kept me busy with the high and exhilaration of Dance Production. March was a month of hard decisions and sadness, but of great support and joy as well. April through May saw me reconnecting with old friendships and forging new ones. I travelled extensively in June and July, and in August it was back to the grind. I struggled with my studies and commitments in September, but I somehow pulled through October with a smile on my face to meet the examinations in November. Then it was December, and I spent time with my family, my friends, and myself.

Now it is January, again.

2015 was a beautiful year, and I can only hope 2016 will be just as fulfilling, beautiful, and memorable. I am thankful for this journey, and the wonderful adventures yet to come.

Leave a Reply

