Willkommen in Berlin!

R1006680

“Berlin ist arm, aber sexy.” (Berlin is poor, but sexy.)
– Klaus Wowereit, Governing Mayor, in a television interview

“Berlin combines the culture of New York, the traffic system of Tokyo, the nature of Seattle, and the historical treasures of, well, Berlin.”
– Hiroshi Motomura, US Law professor

“Du bist verrückt mein Kind, du mußt nach Berlin.” (You are crazy, my child. You must go to Berlin.)
– Franz von Suppe, composer

R1006721 R1006684 R1006702R1006710 R1006714 10515333_10152227561728977_8375436134472971993_o 10298469_10152227562368977_1960739703458552393_o

For the unaware, I’ve been away on my #taretravels from 21 June – 21 July. It was mostly for summer school in Berlin, but I took the amazing opportunity to go see Budapest, Prague, Kutna Hora, Cologne and Bonn! While I’ve (mostly) loved every city I visited, Berlin remains my favourite – maybe by virtue of the fact that I stayed there the longest, but definitely also because Berlin was absolutely magical to me, and I am so in love its culture and ways.

There’s something old-but-new about Berlin, and though it may be neither the most modern nor the most rugged, the rustic (and yet sophisticated?) charm of the city was endlessly intriguing. I loved my time there.

We spent the first few days roaming the Kreuzberg/Friedrichstein area (because Kenneth knows it like the back of his hand haha!), and it was so vastly different from clean, sterile and smooth-surfaced Singapore that almost every turn and every corner promised something different and new. Flowers, cigarette butts, uneven roads, impossibly neat windows, cobblestone streets, bicycles parked wherever they can be parked… it was delightful.

And I had a beer almost immediately upon reaching Berlin (talk about assimilation).

R1006756 10515244_10152227561598977_5064245894134137298_o

Say hello to Shirlynn! Initially, when I signed up for summer school, I had no one to travel with and had come within a hair’s width of canceling my trip altogether. But I was so fortunate to have met her!! ❤ ❤ ❤ Also featured is her Burger, whom could be referred to as a companion as well haha!

10497363_10152270728693977_60421681700228077_o

Me in front of my exchange university!!! 😀
Can’t wait to share all that I’ve learned about Berlin! I have about only a thousand photos, so it shouldn’t take too long. Right??

Watch this space! 😀

3 thoughts on “Willkommen in Berlin!

  1. Hey! I hope this is not too weird but I chanced upon your blog posts about Berlin whilst researching for things to do during my summer prog at humboldt. Haha. It was really enjoyable reading your adventures in Berlin. I was just wondering if you could share with me any other must-go places in the city that you haven’t already written about? It would be great to hear from someone who has actually been there on a similar programme 🙂 cheers.

    Daniel

    1. Hello!! 😀 Wow I’m flattered you found my rambling interesting haha!

      There is also the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp, up at the north of Berlin, at Oranienburg. The U-Bahn stop is in in Zone C (Oranienburg) but you have to take another bus from Oranienburg to get to the concentration camp. If you’re a history buff, this is the best place to learn about the Nazi concentration camps! It’s a bit sombre though. I spent about 3 hours in there hahaha. If you do decide to go, you should rent the audio guide (it’s like a tour guide, only in a machine and much cheaper)!!

      I personally really, really loved the Sunday Flea Market in Mauer Park (wrote about it here https://cheryltaro.wordpress.com/2015/03/05/if-your-soul-has-no-sunday-it-becomes-an-orphan/), particularly because I like the buskers and the feeling of being part of the community hahaha. Also see the (kinda typical but shouldn’t be missed) free things to do in Berlin!! https://cheryltaro.wordpress.com/2015/02/02/berlin-berlin-wir-fahren-nach-berlin/

      I’ve never got to visit Potsdam – it is at thesouthwestern border of Berlin, all the way at Zone C (again) hahaha. I’ve never been there, but I heard its where all the castles are, definitely good for photography and history! 😀

      1. Hi Cheryl thanks for your reply. You (and your posts) have been a real help for me to plan my various day trips around berlin hahaha. I’ll be sure to visit the sunday flea market that you loved it really looks awesome! Enjoy your holidays 😉

Leave a Reply

