FoodBook: Strangers’ Reunion

Ahhh I haven’t touched this space for the longest time!! T_____TDoes anyone miss my online presence HAHAHA *thickskin* The last few weeks have been absolutely MAD because I had to struggle so hard just to keep up with all my Semester 2 modules 😦

That’s what you get when you join too many activities folks 😦 That and, my discipline and self-control seem to have been THROWN OUT THE WINDOW the minute Sem 2 began wuwuwuwuwu. NEED TO STOP BEING COMPLACENT @_@

Today’s FoodBook needs no introduction. In fact, I wasn’t even planning on doing a FoodBook on Strangers’ Reunion because…. EVERYONE KNOWS WHAT STRANGERS’ REUNION IS.
Gaiz, it is the place to hang out. In fact, it is so much of a the place, that we had to wait a whole 30 minutes to get seats (and it’s already a relatively large cafe).
We were ushered in to a small table, and they promptly squished two extra chairs to this table-for-three, and we promptly snatched the bigger ones, so Ben had to sit on a stool that was too small for his butt hahahahah. Always be kiasu guys. Always. Be. Kiasu.
My dates for the day! Minus Ben, who was late.
Which explains why he got the stool hahaha.

 

My amazing cup of Magic and a beautiful cappuccino
(yah la the latte art is the same, don’t picky can)
MOST DELICIOUS TRUFFE FRIES IN DA WORLDDDD.
Eggs Florentine which I stole from Kat because my own dish wasn’t camera-ready 😦

 

THIS IS THE REASON WHY THE WORLD REVOLVES!

Despite the crowd and lack of space, Strangers’ Reunion still manages to be an incredibly cosy and lovely cafe. Given that it is home to the three-time and current Singapore National Barista Champion & Second runner up at the World latte art Championships (sorry, this title is so long it’s damn quotable hahaha) it’s really no wonder that their coffee is excellent. I normally don’t really like my coffee without sugar or syrup, but the cup of Magic I had here (no joke, real name) was soooo aromatic and naturally flavorful that I didn’t want to add syrup for fear that I’d spoil the taste (that, or I could be just becoming old…)

The one thing I didn’t really like was some of the actual brunch/mains items. It was just a little bit pricey for what was given (which also explains why I didn’t want to take a picture of my own brunch hahaha). I had to pay a little over $15 for some toast and poached eggs. Mind, they weren’t “Eggs Benedict” – the real eggs benny seemed too expensive so I didn’t order it. But now I think if you want to have a good, proper brunch at Strangers’ Reunion, you have to be ready to buy the more expensive things on their menu. The “cheaper” ones just do not have value-for-money. See, Kat ordered the Eggs Florentine and it turned out beautifully hahaha (should we be sad about this).

BUT.

The buttermilk waffles. THE BUTTERMILK WAFFLES.

By then, I was really full but I just wanted a second stomach there and then so I could finish both the waffles.

HEAVENLY. Godsend. I want some Buttermilk Waffles now.

Amazing cafe, lives up to its reputation, and I wish they had more seats.


STRANGER’S REUNION

Address 33/35/37 Kampong Bahru Rd Singapore 169355

Phone 6222 4869

Opening Hours
Sun-Thu: 09:00 – 22:00
Closed on Tue
Fri – Sat: 09:00 – 00:00

Taro Points Buttermilk Waffles and Coffee

 

This post was imported from http://cheryltaro.blogspot.com on 25 March 2014.

Leave a Reply

